My Husband Is In A Wheelchair But He Is SOMEBODY, TOO.

 

To all of those people who don’t understand the challenges of those in wheelchairs: May I have YOUR Attention, PLEASE?

Before my husband was confined to a wheelchair, I can honestly say that I never paid any attention to those who travel in and are confined to wheelchairs. I never understood their inconveniences. I just took getting on and off of public transportation for granted. I never knew the horrors of having to go five to ten blocks away from my actual bus or el stop and get off there because that’s the only wheelchair accessible stop for me. I never knew how people in wheelchairs are disrespected by the public transportation workers as well as the riders. I also never considered the problems those in wheelchairs (and those who have other physical challenges) when they have to go to buildings which are NOT wheelchair or handicap accessible. I never considered how much a person who is in a wheelchair or who has a physical challenge appreciates when they can go to an establishment and the doors open automatically. I never thought about how people in wheelchairs and those who are physically, mentally or developmentally challenged are considered less than human by those who don’t face similar challenges. I wrote all of that to say this: BE CONSIDERATE OF THOSE IN WHEELCHAIRS (as well as to those who are elderly and who have other physical, mental or developmental challenges). Why? Because one day it could be YOU. Not everybody in a wheelchair has a mental or developmental challenge. My husband is of a sound mind. He is NOT deaf; He is NOT slow. He is NOT mute.
As humans, we have lost our neighborly and friendly ways from the days of old. I remember being a little girl and people would speak to each other: good morning, good afternoon, good evening. They would pass each other in the streets and say “Hello” to one another, even if they were strangers. They would hold a door open for those who needed help. Now a days, people look at you like you stink if you say “hello”.
I am writing this from the perspective of a wife. From the perspective of a Christian or believer in JESUS CHRIST, I think it’s high time that we LOVE ONE ANOTHER and TREAT ONE ANOTHER WITH LOVE. IF YOU CAN’T DO THAT, THEN PRAY THAT GOD GIVES YOU A HEART OF COMPASSION BECAUSE GOD HAD COMPASSION ON US BY SENDING HIS SON JESUS CHRIST TO DIE FOR OUR SINS. HE, GOD, COULD HAVE JUST SAID, “OH, FORGET ABOUT THEM. THEY SINNED AGAINST ME SO I’M JUST GOING TO LET THEM DIE IN THEIR SIN AND GO TO HELL” BUT GOD DIDN’T DO THAT. HE SENT HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON, JESUS CHRIST AS A RANSOM FOR US. WOW. WOW. WOW.

MAY GOD BLESS YOU

 

Leave a Reply

