Compassion and Love

ImageSome times love is spoken but not shown. At Out of A Pure Heart Ministries, we like to walk the talk. In other words, we like to DO love more than just talk about love.
In JESUS’ public ministry, HE had compassion on the people who were following HIM. When he was teaching the multitudes, HE had compassion on them ~ See Matthew 9:36-38, Matthew 20:30-34, Matthew 14:14-21, and Luke 7:11-16.  In these 
Scriptures, we see that JESUS had “intense feelings of Divine Love” for the people whom HE was preaching and teaching. Not only did JESUS give them the Word, HE SHOWED them the WORD in action by feeding, healing, and forgiving sin.
I’m writing this article because I can feel an amazing change in my heart. It is a heart of compassion. According to Wikipedia.com, compassion means “Sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others”. I am beginning to feel that more strongly, every day. That’s why I can sit and make gift bags to give to those in shelters. This is why I can sit, even thought I may not physically feel like doing it, and make things to give out to people to offer them hope. Now I know that it is Compassion.

I go to bed thinking how can I bless somebody who is less fortunate. I dream about doing things for people who can’t do for themselves. I cry sometimes because I don’t have the financial means to do more. Ah, the feeling of compassion and love.

Beloved’s, GOD was so compassionate and loving towards us in that HE saw our need for a Savior that HE sent JESUS to give of HIMSELF for us so that we might live eternally with HIM in the new heaven and new earth. Shouldn’t we feel compassion and love for those whom are not able to help themselves?

I know not everybody is called or appointed to do what Out of A Pure Heart Ministries does, but we all are called to LOVE and to serve one another. 

I remember the days when I would walk past homeless people and think bad thoughts about them. Thoughts like “they need to get themselves together and get a job and stop asking me for MY hard earned money” or “the only reason why they are asking for money is to support their drug habit”. What a bad heart that was. No compassion. No love. Just judgment. No pity. No desire to help. Just an uncaring heart, never thinking that that person could be me.

I believe GOD’s Word, and in HIS Word, JESUS tells us that when we do or do not help those who are hungry, homeless, sick and imprisoned, we are or are not helping HIM ~ See Matthew 25:31-46. It is a compelling story which makes me think that every time I help someone, I’m helping JESUS. I love that feeling. I love it so.
JESUS didn’t tell us to have compassion on people based on whether or not they could ever pay us back. JESUS didn’t tell us to love people who only love us. No. HE told us to love the Lord our GOD with all our heart, soul, mind and spirit, and our neighbors as ourselves ~ Mark 12:30-31.

Luke 6:35 says, But love ye your enemies, and do good, and lend, hoping for nothing again; and your reward shall be great, and ye shall be the children of the Highest: for he is kind unto the unthankful and to the evil”. 

ImageSo

Some peoples’ hearts are so broken, a simple smile may be all they need, but if one is not compassionate, they won’t even offer something as simple as a smile. Some just need a kind word, while others actually need things which we take for granted. I never, in my wildest dreams, would think of toilet paper as a hot commodity. Never.

As I am typing this, I can see homeless people walking around with soiled clothing on, yet I can go to my closet or drawers and pull out some clean clothes and go out looking ok. These people wear the same clothing day in and day out, oftentimes wreaking of urine and feces. Compassion will cause one to stop at a store and get them a pair of pants or at the very least, give them some money to purchase something new.

I am having a hard time dealing with the reality that people just don’t want to help this cause. I cry when I get on my broadcast to talk about the horrors of these hurting people. I am feeling trying to be patient, but each and every day, I go to bed with the knowledge that because I don’t have the proper funding, somebody in my community is out on the street, hungry or somebody in a shelter is lacking the basic daily necessities to get by. 

My heart is aching but I believe GOD is going to provide the financial help, and volunteers Out of A Pure Heart Ministries need in order to show compassion to those less fortunate. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this and please pray that GOD will send people to help physically and financially. And please don’t forget to pray for all those who are living on the streets and for those who are in shelters. Don’t forget, please, to pray for the abused, abandoned, and rejected.

Thank you GOD bless you.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Compassion and Love”

  1. Great post! I agree with you completely that there is so much we can do to help. If you get a chance, check out my latest post as it has a similar theme.
    Thanks for all that you do. 🙂

    1. It’s times like this that I wish the window of heaven would open so I could freely give to help this man. What I can do is to reblog this to get as many people to see it and possibly some help can come of it. I feel his pain. I know the feeling of feeling hopeless and afraid with noone to help or noone who is willing to help. Thank you for sharing this compelling plea for help. I will do what I can do to help spread the word.

      1. If you click on the title of the specific post that you would like to reblog, the “reblog” option should appear at the top of the page. 🙂
        Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

