Don’t Overlook The GIFT Just Because You Don’t Like The Packaging

ImageThis is me and my husband. He is wheelchair-bound, but he is the happiest person I know. My husband has taught me how to OVERCOME disability by looking at it as a challenge, not a curse or a punishment from GOD. See, my husband was born with Cerebral Palsy. He has a fused left hip, has asthma, has had congestive heart failure, and uses a a-pap machine when he sleeps. He walks with a serious gate, when he does walk, and his spine is curving. That doesn’t stop his joy! Why? Because the joy of the LORD is his strength. Does he get down sometimes? Yes. He’s human, but after a little talk with his Heavenly Father, he’s right back to his jovial self again.
Many people have overlooked this gift of a man because of the “package” he’s in. He’s in a wheelchair; His right had is withered due to Cerebral Palsy. He can’t walk like others. He’s not the politically correct person to be a pastor or anything else because he doesn’t fit the image.

Well, I’d challenge anyone to just sit and talk to him for about 10 minutes. He has a wealth of knowledge. He taught high school history. He managed a daycare – when it opened, they had one child. When he left, they had 60. This was before he became wheelchair bound, but he did walk with a gate.

At first glance, people didn’t approach him, readily. Oh, but when they got to know him, they loved him. See, my husband is not retarded, mentally challenged, or slow. His mind is sharp. He can recall dates from history and give you the story like he was there for the event. He is a history buff, but now he is an advocate for the physically, mentally and developmentally challenged. He sees the vile prejudices against the “challenged” and he wants to do something to change the attitudes of people who think all people in wheelchairs are “slow”, mentally challenged, or deaf. He wants people who are experiencing ANY DISABILITY/CHALLENGE to be respected and looked upon as “normal” human beings because truth be told, nobody is perfect in mind or body. We ALL have short comings.

My husband doesn’t know I’m writing this blog about him, but I just wanted some other people to know about him. He is very articulate. He’s always willing to help others. No matter where he goes, he cheers people up by just offering a pleasant “hello” or by assisting someone who is a little worse off than he is.

I love this man and I’d like for others to get to know him. He’s a great man in a different package and I think I’ll keep him (if he’ll have me…LOL)
Oh, I forgot the best part, he is a preacher. Has been preaching since the age of 12 (the same year I was born -1964). This man loves GOD and he loves teaching and preaching about GOD. He does a blogtalkradio program on Mondays at 6 p.m. and he is on fire!

He has taught me to love me, be me, and roll with the punches.  He has taught me that I may have Lupus, but Lupus doesn’t have me. He has taught me that GOD is not punishing me, but GOD can get the glory from my story if I let HIM. Isn’t that wonderful? We are the ODD COUPLE, but we are the GOD couple.

Leave a Reply

