What To Do When You Feel A Tug Of War Between Your Flesh and Spirit

As a born again believer Christian, I sometimes find it hard to live a holy life. I mean, at times, there is a tug of war of sorts going on between my flesh (my outward man: my mind, my will and my emotions who wants to have its way) and my spirit (my inward, regenerated, renewed spirit man, who also wants to have its way). But brothers and sisters in Christ, what I have learned is this from

Romans 8:12-14
12Therefore, brethren, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live after the flesh. 13 For if ye live after the flesh, ye shall die: but if ye through the Spirit do mortify the deeds of the body, ye shall live. 14For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.

and

Romans 8:8
So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.

I am born again. Old things are passed away, and all things are become new! I don’t have to live any longer according to the sinful desires of my flesh, but I have to make up my mind, when I feel that tug of war, that “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

I have to tell my flesh that it is no longer in control. I am a child of the Most High God (Yahweh) and He sent HIS Son Jesus (Yahshua) to redeem me unto Himself. I am NO LONGER A SLAVE TO SIN, but I am now a SLAVE to RIGHTEOUSNESS. I am no longer RULED by my sinful inclinations and when the lust of my flesh tries to arise, I tell it, “Flesh, you are dead. I am led by the Spirit of God and I will not give in to the lust and sinful desires that you crave”. “I’ve been brought with a price (the blood of Yashua (Jesus) and I will live for HIM”.
Yes, sometimes I have to use my mouth to speak to myself so that I won’t give in to the lusts or desires of my flesh.

In James 1 verses 13-15 we see some very powerful words

Perseverance in Temptation

13Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: 14But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. 15Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death.

See my brothers and sisters, it is not God who is tempting me or causing that tug of war within me. I recognize that when I am not prayed up or when I have not studied my Bible like I should, it’s easy for me to be tempted, drawn away and enticed. I must think on the things that are listed in Philippians 4:8 Things that are:

  • honest
  • just
  • pure
  • lovely
  • of good report
  • and if there be any virtue and if there be any praise, THINK ON THESE THINGS.

I/you must also remember what Ephesians 6:12-18 teaches us

12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;

15 And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace;

16 Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God:

18 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

So see, my brothers and sisters, when we are tempted to sin, we MUST KNOW our enemy, KNOW our enemy’s intent, and KNOW how to defeat him.

It may be a tug of war, but WE CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHICH STRENGTHENS US (Philippians 4:13).
What I have learned, I DON’T HAVE TO SIN. I DON’T HAVE TO GIVE IN TO THE TEMPTATION TO SIN. I HAVE THE POWER OF GOD WITHIN ME TO LIVE HOLY AND RIGHTEOUS. I JUST HAVE TO MAKE UP MY MIND WHOM I WILL SERVE.

AND PLEASE DON’T FORGET TO PRAY…..WITHOUT CEASING!

I LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

