When Living For God Becomes A Struggle…….Pray

Sometimes as Christians, we try to portray to others that living holy or living for God is ALWAYS easy. I for one can say that it hasn’t always been easy for me. There have been times in my life when I wanted to do what my friends were doing, but I knew that for what I believed, I could no longer do those things. My flesh, at times has become weak and my faith has been challenged. There have been times when the going got tough, I wanted to throw my hands in the air and say, “God, I’m not living for You anymore because it was better before I became born again”. However, I knew that it was just my emotions talking, though at the time, what I was feeling was VERY REAL.

I’ve been born again for many years and at times, LIVING FOR GOD was a struggle. I had experienced many, many hurtful situations in my life and I wondered if living for God was even worth it.

For a time, I even turned my back on God. In other words, I backslid. I was still going through the motions of going to church but my mind was not on God, but rather on the things of the world. I was in my flesh and I liked it. I started drinking, cussing and having ungodly relationships with men to whom I was not married to. Yeah, I sometimes thought “This is wrong and I know God is not pleased”, but I gave in to the desires of my flesh. Thank God He didn’t turn His back on me. Thank God somebody was praying for me. I thank God that He didn’t let me die in my sin, in my backslidden state of mind.

I have come to realize that when LIVING FOR GOD becomes a struggle, it’s usually when my prayer life is lacking or when I cut back on reading, studying and obeying God’s Word, the Bible. It is never God’s fault when I struggle to serve Him because He has given me His Holy Spirit which leads me and guides me and helps me to live a Holy life. It is when my desires don’t line up with God’s desires that LIVING FOR Him becomes a struggle.

I have made up my mind that I WILL LIVE FOR GOD for the rest of my days!
I have made up my mind that I will not give in to the desires of my flesh for I know that in my flesh lieth no good thing….Romans 7:18
I have made up my mind that nothing is worth me losing my relationship with God.

 

Leave a Reply

