Where is God In The Hard Times? Where is God When Life Hurts?

Ultimate Blog Challenge
July 7, 2014

Have you ever gone through something so hard, so emotionally draining, so hurtful and wondered “God, Where Are You?”, or “God, Why Did You Allow This To Happen To Me?”
Well, I have been there and although I have not always gotten the answers, I know for sure that God cares about EVERY tear that falls from my eyes and your eyes. I know that God cares about every situation, every pain – physically and emotionally. It may not feel like it, but God does care.

Here is a Scripture that I had to read and apply to my life. Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:
a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

You may be saying, “Theresa, that doesn’t help me!!!” I understand how you may be feeling, but TRUST GOD. HIS WAYS ARE NOT OUR WAYS, NEITHER ARE HIS THOUGHTS OUR THOUGHTS ~
Isaiah 55:7-8.

It is human nature for us to ask God “why?”. It is human nature to even blame God when we go through challenging situations. HE understands, but we must be careful not to disrespect HIM because no matter what, HE is still God!

Psalm 43:5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

Who feels like praising God when they are going through difficult situations? Not many people. It can be hard to do, but when you have a good relationship with God, it is possible to praise HIM during the difficult times.

This is a prayer that I have had to pray and it helped me when I was going through the most horrific time of my life:
Isaiah 41:10
10 Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

I am not writing this as a novice but as someone who has had to trust God when it was hardest to trust Him. I am not trying to make it seem like I have always understood WHY God allows and allowed certain things to happen, but I can say this without fear of contradiction: Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning” ~ Psalm 30:5

So I leave you with this:
In the hard times, trust God
In the good times, trust God
We may not understand His ways and why He allows what He allows, but, as a songwriter wrote “We’ll understand it better by and by”.

God bless you.

2 thoughts on “Where is God In The Hard Times? Where is God When Life Hurts?”

  1. Thanks Teresa, this was so inspirational. It is human nature to ask God why when things happen. God is amazing.

Leave a Reply

