Rustie MacDonald – Foster Child Advocate

Join us this evening, JANUARY 22, 2015 on Blogtalkradio as we welcome FOSTER CHILD ADVOCATE, Rustie MacDonald. Tune and listen to this child/youth advocate. She has a beautiful story and work. 1-323-693-3054
6 p.m. Eastern Time
5 p.m. Central Time
4 p.m. Mountain Time
3 p.m. Pacific Time

“I was born in 1976 in Lexington, Kentucky.  I was relocated to Florida until 1990. Then in 1990 I moved to Vermont and now I live on the Seacoast of New Hampshire. I have always had this overwhelming desire to help others and this began at a very early age. I was witness to the over whelming poverty of the early 1980’s. As a very young girl, I saw the mile long lines of people waiting for food donation given by the Salvation Army. The severe poverty I lived in and witnessed aroused a great compassion for others and set the stage for my empathetic and giving nature.  At age 4, I had already begun to save food to help the local Salvation Army “feed that long line of people who are hungry.”   Even then, I was determined to make sure no one ever felt alone or without.

As I grew up, I began to volunteer for various organizations. In High school, I advocated in the Juvenile Court system as a Peer Advocate for Foster Youth.  I started a children’s reading group as an “America Reads” volunteer at my local public library. I continued to set the stage of leadership as my High School began a new Award “School Spirit.” In honor of my dedication to my school, I was the first to receive this public award.

265092_1649071246282_5457533_nWhile attending Johnson State College, I was a Big Sister in the Big Sister/Brother Program. I continued to advocate for Foster Youth and was invited by the State Of Vermont’s Children Services (DHS) to Speak at a Foster Care Conference in 1996. I spoke about the difficulty of attending college as a foster child. My motivational speech was made in front of Legislators, DHS employees and 100 foster youth. I speech helped to create opportunities for foster children to attend college. This was an empowering moment for me and a pivotal point in my life. That was the moment I  took the first steps on my path as a coach, mentor and life long advocate”.

Rustie MacDonald PROMO 1-22-15

Leave a Reply

