Where is the Love?

For a few days now, I have been grieved in my spirit about some comments I’ve read on two particular peoples’ social media pages. The comments were made by Christians and non-Christians alike, but I couldn’t really distinguish between the two. The harsh language; the cyber bullying; the ridicule and disrespect are so overwhelming, and yet, these people who are spewing so much ungodliness,  more than 2/3 of them claim to be Christians. I would never be able to distinguish between the Christian and the non-Christian as the behavior from both groups is deplorable. Now, I know nobody is perfect, but as professing Christians, aren’t we supposed to have the mind of Christ? Aren’t we supposed to live holy? Isn’t our conversation supposed to be that which is pleasing unto God? Yes? I thought so. However, what I have read causes me to ask a very pertinent question: “Where is the Love?”

How can we, who are supposed to be Christ-like, participate in the ungodliness of those who are spewing hate, ridicule, strife, causing division, etc? How can we support those who are acting according to the world instead of according to the Word? Why is it that we find it entertaining to watch our brother and/or sister in “Christ”, or any individual, be demeaned, called out of their name, persecuted with words, slandered, etc.? Have we no compassion? Have we no love of God residing within us? How can any person take the Word of God and use it to literally tear down another person? How can anybody sit in front of the church, cuss, degrade another person, and then in the same breath say, “I’m about to and get my church on”? How can sweet and bitter flow from the same fountain? How can we who say we love God, participate in the tearing down of a person – a fellow sister/brother in Christ (or any individual)?

Christians, saints, people of the Most High God, we MUST STOP THIS MADNESS. We must be different from the world. We must be transformed in our thinking and we must be renewed in the spirit of our minds. We Must Be Christlike, no matter who is not being Christlike for we shall all give an account of what we say and do.

I must admit, I have watched the videos and laughed at the comments, but God has convicted me and has called me out of the foolishness. I no longer find it entertaining to see my my brother/sister in Christ ridiculed, body shamed, disrespected, bullied or taunted with disparaging acts/comments. My reading the comments and laughing at them makes me no better than the commentors. So, with that being said, I repent unto God for allowing myself to get caught up in the foolishness. I repent for finding it entertaining to watch someone get treated in such ungodly ways (even if the person is not doing right, themselves). I repent for laughing at words of hate, anger and just plain meanness. Father God, forgive me! I will no longer watch any videos and/or read any comments meant to tear down any brother/sister in Christ, or any other human being because if I enjoy watching people getting treated in that manner, it simply means that I am in agreement with the bad behavior. God is not pleased.

Where is the Love? Where is the Agape Love?

John 13:34
A new commandment I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so also you must love one another.

1 John 3:11
This is the message you have heard from the beginning: We should love one another.

1 John 4:8
Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.

1 John 4:11
Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

1 John 4:7-8King James Version (KJV)

Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God.

He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.

In the Book of Romans, chapter 1:28-2:11, we find these words:

28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;

29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,

30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,

31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:

32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

Therefore thou art inexcusable, O man, whosoever thou art that judgest: for wherein thou judgest another, thou condemnest thyself; for thou that judgest doest the same things.

But we are sure that the judgment of God is according to truth against them which commit such things.

3 And thinkest thou this, O man, that judgest them which do such things, and doest the same, that thou shalt escape the judgment of God?

Or despisest thou the riches of his goodness and forbearance and longsuffering; not knowing that the goodness of God leadeth thee to repentance?

But after thy hardness and impenitent heart treasurest up unto thyself wrath against the day of wrath and revelation of the righteous judgment of God;

Who will render to every man according to his deeds:

To them who by patient continuance in well doing seek for glory and honour and immortality, eternal life:

But unto them that are contentious, and do not obey the truth, but obey unrighteousness, indignation and wrath,

Tribulation and anguish, upon every soul of man that doeth evil, of the Jew first, and also of the Gentile;

10 But glory, honour, and peace, to every man that worketh good, to the Jew first, and also to the Gentile:

11 For there is no respect of persons with God.”

Where is the Love?

 

Leave a comment